Sunday School


SundaySchoolHeader


BLT (Bible, Learning, Teaching)

Leader: Dulaney Wood (dwood007@@aol.com)

Location: Room 1 (just off the Fellowship Hall)

The BLT class does 6 to 8 week studies by outstanding scholars and writers. We will have a short 20 to 30 minute video that is followed by class discussion. Class is formatted so that study ahead of time or attendance every week is not required. Each lesson can stand on its own. We have done studies by Max Lucado, Ray Vander Lann, Adam Hamilton, Jennie Allen, John Ortberg, Rob Bell, Jessica LaGrone, James Moore, Kyle Idleman and many others. We will have special Advent and Easter studies. All of our studies are to intended to help us grow in our walk with Christ. We strive to become better Christians in our life, our work, and our relationships.


Contemporary Issues

Leader: Ross Stinetorf (rstinetorf@twc.com)

Location: Room 111

Coffee, pastries, and group discussion. The class discussions are based on the Bible and current issues. We will use The Wired Word this fall and look at what is happening in the world and how we respond as Christians.


FISH (Friends in Service to Him)

Leader: Matt Wood (mwood@trinsoft.com)

Location: Room 2 (Just off the Fellowship Hall)

FISH Sunday School is made up of parents with young children (babies-elementary) who enjoy meeting together weekly and at other times throughout the year. We use The Wired Word each week where we discuss a news story and see how Scripture informs what is going on in the world.


Forum

Leader: Dr. Jim Heidinger (jimheidinger@yahoo.com)

Location: Room 107 (Parlor)

This class follows a Bible Study curriculum with a wonderful quarterly and a supplemental Illustrated Bible Life resource. The make-up of the class is older adults, many of whom are long-time members at First Church, but that is not a limitation or requirement at all. Any age-group is welcome.


Foundations

Leader: Keith Cooper (keithcooper107@gmail.com)

Location: Room 221

We seek to learn more about how we fit in the narrative of God’s Story and how discipleship fits in our homes. As a class we will pick a book of the Bible to read and discuss a chapter per week basis. All ages are welcome!


Mixed Media

Leader: Frances Abell (momabell@twc.com)

Location: Room 222

A wonderful class covering a variety of topics, news events, and Biblical approaches. All ages are welcome!


Spiritual Growth Class

Leaders: Nell & Chris Alford (nell@alfordrealestateservices.com)

Location: Room 123

This classes reads a book and discusses it with different members sharing the facilitator role.  All are welcome


Trailblazers

Leader: Dr. Bill Arnold (bill.arnold@twc.com)

Location: West Chapel

All ages and walks of life welcome. Scholar led class covering various books of the Bible and thematic approaches. 


Young Professionals Class

Leaders: Eric & Jean Ezell (jeanezell@windstream.net)

Location: Rokeby Conference Room


Trying to Find the Right Fit?

At First Church, our priority for Spiritual growth is that each member and visitor finds a community of fellow disciples in which God is calling him or her to grow deeper in faith. Thus we encourage you to visit various Sunday School classes and small groups in which you have interest until you discover this call. Interested in starting a new group? Contact Carol Cooper, carol@1stumc.org.